Article Databases
Article Databases
Article databases provide electronic access to large collections of magazine and scholarly journal articles. Articles located in databases are more trustworthy than information found on many websites because they have been checked and edited by experts.
- The PCC Library subscribes to 90 databases.
- PCC students can search the databases at no cost.
- Google searching will not find 99% of database items because they require a paid subscription.
- The tutorial on Using Research Databases will demonstrate the advantages to using research databases.
Top Article Databases
Tips for Using Databases
When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.
You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Many of the library databases include MLA, APA, and other citation formats. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the citation into your Works Cited or References page! (Always look them over to make sure they are correct.)
General Periodical and Newspaper Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new window"Collection of digitized news content, spanning the latest headlines and developments in contemporary politics, culture, health and technology, to historical coverage of important (and sometimes forgotten) people, places and events dating back to the 1700s." -ProQuest
- Arizona Daily StarNOTE: In the "Publication" box (lower right) enter "Arizona Daily Star."
- Arizona Daily Star OnlineA seven day archive of the Star is available on-line. Registration is required to read more than two articles.
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
Finding E-Journals
Search for SPECIFIC Online Journals by TITLE or SUBJECT, or try searching these popular titles below:
