*database navbar layout Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Image Resources from PCC: History Images

HISTORY IMAGES

images courtesy: Britannica ImageQuest and ArtStor

History Images from Museums and Libraries

Digital Public Library of America

  • Images organized by topic.
  • Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.

Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division and Library of Congress Photos

  • Images organized by collection.
  • Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.

World Digital Library (joint project from the Library of Congress and UNESCO)

  • Primary sources including documents, images and audiovisual materials
  • Check copyright with the institution owning the object.

World History Encyclopedia

  • All content on this site is protected by a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 license unless otherwise stated. You will find a copyright notice under any material protected by copyright (or other licenses) on this site.

The Metropolitan Museum Collection Online

  • 400,000 high-resolution digital images from the Metropolitan Museum collection.
  • Browsable via artist, maker, culture, object type, material, geographic location, era, and department.
  • Downloadable.
  • For non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.

National Archives, Photograph Collections

  • Images organized by topic and date.
  • Most images are in the public domain.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

  • Copyright on NYPL digital images varies.  See individual item for more details.
  • For permissions and information on use contact: permissions@nypl.org.

Smithsonian Collections Online

  • Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes.

Smithsonian Open Access

  • Images, information and other materials which can be used freely in educational settings.

National Anthropological Archives at the Smithsonian

United States Holocaust Museum

Life Magazine Photo Archive (powered by Google)

  • Most images will have copyright restrictions, but may be usable under Fair Use

Memorica (Mexican Ministry of Culture)

  • Use online exhibits to find images related to the history and culture of Mexico.
  • Free non-commercial use.

British Museum Images

Political Cartoons

Today's Political Cartoons

Image Database Subscriptions at PCC

 

PCC's History Databases: use advanced search and filter search results to photos/images