MLA HANDBOOK 8th ed. EXAMPLES OF CITATIONS
BOOKS
MLA Handbook. 8th ed., Kindle ed., Modern Language Association of American,
2016.
Morrison, Toni. Beloved. Alfred Knopf, 1987.
Sullivan, Patricia. Lift Every Voice: the NAACP and the Making of the Civil Rights Movement. New Press: Distributed by Perseus Distribution, 2009.
WEB ( DATABASES)
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of the article.” Title of the journal, First name, Last name of any other contributors, Version (if applicable) , Numbers (such as a volume and issue number) Publisher, Publication date, Page numbers, Title of the database, URL.
CODESRIA, 2012, pp. 120-138.JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24487691.
INTERVIEWS
Citation Format for Interviews
Important: Always begin your citation with the name of the person interviewed as the author, followed by the title of the interview (if there is any). The interviewer's name may be included if it is relevant (style.mla.org/category/ask-the-mla/?s=interview).
Interview you saw on television or heard on the radio
Citation examples:
Blackmun, Harry. Interview with Ted Koppel and Nina Totenberg. Nightline, ABC, WABC, 5 Apr. 1994.
Nader, Ralph. Interview with Ray Suarez. Talk of the Nation, KQED, San Francisco. 16 Apr. 1998.
Interview you read in a magazine or newspaper
Citation examples:
Lansbury, Angela. "The Grand Woman of Mystery Reveals Her Own Mysteries." People, 15 June 2002, pp. 52-55.
Gordimer, Nadine. "Novelist Speaks of Life, Love, Travels." New York Times, 10 Oct. 1991, late ed., p. C25.
Interview that you conducted
1) Name of the person interviewed
2) The kind of interview (personal interview, telephone interview)
3) Date you conducted the interview
Citation examples:
Smith, Will. Personal interview. 22 July 2003.
WEB (EXCLUDING DATABASES)
Crowe, Liam. “Introducing a New Dog to Your Household Pack.” SPCA International, 9 June 2014,
www.spcai.org/get-involved/animal-advice/introducing -new-dog-your-household-pack/.
Cuddy, Amy. “Your Body Language Shapes Who You Are” Ted Talks, 1 Oct. 2012. YouTube,
youtu.be/5c3gzYOsp8Y.
National Center for Education Statistics. New Americans in Postsecondary
Education: A Profile of Immigrant and Second-Generation American
Undergraduates, United States Department of Education,
nces.ed.gov/pubs2012/2012213.pdf. Accessed 27 July 2016.
NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES
Burrell, Lisa. "We Just Can't Handle Diversity: A Research Roundup." The Harvard
Business Review, July-Aug. 2016, pp. 71-74.
Newton-Small, Jay. "In Dallas, Police Lives Mourned But Rage Continues to
Boil Over." Time, 10 July 2016 ,pp. 15+.
ONLINE VIDEOS
Video from a library database
Career Materials:
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Online Version:
"Librarians." Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. 15th ed.
Vol. 4. Ferguson, 2011. Web. 3 October 2011.
<http://ebooks.infobasepublishing.com/GlobalView.aspx>.
Print Version:
"Librarians." Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. 15th ed.
Vol. 4. New York, NY: Ferguson, 2011. Print.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
[Government document & encyclopedia format]
Online Version (posted Jan. 2014):
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Librarians."
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2014-15. 2014. Web. 21 September 2014.
<http://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/librarians.htm>.
Print Version (published Jan. 2008):
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Librarians."
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2008-09. Library ed.. Washington, DC:
U.S. Government Publishing Office. 2008. Print.
Occupational Outlook Quarterly (periodical)
Online Version:
Crosby, O. "Librarians: Information Experts in the Information Age."
Occupational Outlook Quarterly, 44.4 (2000): 1-15. Web. 21 October 2009.
<http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/ooqhome.htm>.