Art Models: Life Nudes Book Series
Art Models by
Artists can easily access the human form outside of the studio with this solid pictorial reference. More than 500 crisp photographs portray a diverse set of models in 100 poses--ranging from the classical to the everyday--and show the positions from a variety of angles, including overhead. Exquisitely detailed photos of particular body parts and precise lighting reveal otherwise hidden areas of the models while providing rich shadowing and tone. The inspiring photographs in this collection are ideal for both students and more advanced artists who are looking for material to supplement a live model class or to hone their skills from the comfort of home.
ISBN: 9781936801060Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Art Models 2 by
Artists looking to supplement a live model class or hone their skills from the comfort of home are provided with a solid pictorial guide to the human form in this detailed reference. Nearly 200 crisp photographs portray a diverse group of male and female models from a variety of angles in 52 classically inspired poses. Precise lighting reveals otherwise hidden areas of the models and illustrates rich shadowing and tone, while an anatomical study, inspired by da Vinci's Vitruvian Man, presents detailed proportional references for each model.
ISBN: 9781936801077Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Art Models 3 by
While no book can replace a live model, this photographic guide to the human form provides a diverse selection of figures for those who do not have access to live models. Posed in a variety of classical and modern modes, the models are set in a clear, clean environment that is void of distractions and enhances the figure. All of the high-resolution photographs were painstakingly edited and adjusted to yield all the nuances of the figures. The companion disc contains 24 photographs per pose that, in totality, comprises a full 360 degree view. Each angle of every pose can be enlarged, enabling artists to zoom in on specific body parts to discover their intricate detail or project the photos to life-like proportions. The disc also offers the flexibility of numerous viewing options--on a computer screen, printed out, projected for a group, or via a high-definition television when connected through a computer.
ISBN: 9781936801084Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Art Models 4 by
While no book can replace a live model, this photographic guide to the human form provides an array of figures for those who do not have access to live models. The latest in the series, this guide features two new models and an entirely new collection of photographs. Posed in a variety of classical and modern positions, the models appear in a clear, clean environment that is void of distractions and enhances the figure. All of the high-resolution photographs were painstakingly edited and adjusted to yield all the nuances of the figures. The PC- and Mac-compatible companion CD-ROM contains 24 photographs per pose that, in total, comprise a full 360-degree view. Each angle of every pose can be enlarged, enabling artists to zoom in on specific body parts to discover their intricate detail or project the photos to lifelike proportions. The CD also offers the flexibility of numerous viewing options--on a computer screen, printed out, projected for a group, or via a high-definition television when connected through a computer.
ISBN: 9781936801091Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Art Models 5 by
Whether for work on a finished piece, trying a new technique, or getting in some practice time, this figure study enables artists to work when and where they want with their choice of model, pose, and view. The latest in the series features 12 new male and female art models--as well as Becca from the previous book--in a collection of poses selected by readers and visitors to the authors' website. The contrast has also been increased in many of the photos to provide deeper, more challenging shadows. While the guide includes individuals and couples with a wide range of body types in natural, relaxed stances as well as some inspired by classical works of art, the primary focus is on dynamic poses--twisting, scrunching, reaching, and even fighting. Poses are precisely lit, revealing every area of the model, and have been carefully chosen to illustrate important effects such as foreshortening and perspective changes. A judicious amount of photo retouching is done, not to make the models more glamorous or plastic, but to remove distractions that detract from the essence of the models. The PC- and Mac-compatible DVD-ROM included in the book features more than 1,200 high-resolution photos available in a number of viewing options--on a computer screen, printed out, projected for a group, or via a high-definition television. Each angle of every pose may also be enlarged, enabling artists to zoom in on specific body parts to achieve a higher level of detail.
ISBN: 9781936801107Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Art Models 7 by
Artists in search of figures in intense action--flying through the air, punching, kicking, and crouching--will find more than 100 poses of male and female models in 28 categories of dynamic movement in the latest addition to the Art Models series. Informed by diverse sources such as baroque art, with its moody lighting and twisting figures, and comic books, with heroic figures in strong stances and suspicious crouches, this visual reference will inspire any artist--comic book artists, animators, video game designers, and illustrators--interested in depicting drama. A section of time-stopping photos of actions including jumping, falling, or swinging a sword offers artists a series of expertly photographed views that would be very challenging to achieve with a studio model. Art Models 7 also presents a number of the series' trademark stationary poses photographed in 24-point rotation and shot in the round. For artists who work in fine detail, close-ups and dramatic perspectives have been added for numerous positions and can be found on the companion disc in resolutions up to 20 megapixels.
ISBN: 9781936801213Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Art Models 8 by
Whether for work on a finished piece, trying a new technique, or getting in some practice time, artists can work when and where they want using the Art Models series. Chosen specifically for artists who sell their work, Art Models 8 features 174 all-new figure studies by 55 different models, both male and female, that represent a wide range of physiques and diversity. The poses include individuals and couples in natural, relaxed posturesâfrom standing and sitting to lying down. A judicious amount of photo retouching has been done, not to make the models more glamorous, but to remove distractions. This ebook does not have the full 360-degree views of every pose. If you would like all the views of all the poses, please see the Companion Disk or print book with disk.
ISBN: 9781936801251Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Art Models 9 Enhanced by
Draw, paint, or sculpt the human figure! Models for figure drawing, painting, or sculpting are traditionally nude. This 9th book in the Art Models series, however, is all about the non-nude figure, finally making this acclaimed reference available to younger artists. Now anyone can study the figure at length and in close-up detail anytime and anywhere. This Enhanced version of Art Models 9 provides access to more and larger photos than the standard version, including all of the 1800+ photos at maximum resolution for use on any PC, Mac, or laptop that has a DVD drive. Practice your life drawing technique, design a scene, study anatomy and drapery, make a finished portrait, do some gesture sketching. The uses of these photos are limited only by your own creativity. Artists wishing to practice#65533;or even create finished works of art#65533;will find a lot to inspire them. Instructors can refer students of many ages to this book for practice and reference. And the publisher gives full permission to do whatever you wish with the artwork created using Art Models 9 as a reference. Every artist has a unique perspective and Art Models 9 includes a wide range of poses for maximum variety. For example, there are technical poses like simple standing, contrapposto, and the "T-pose" but also action poses like jumping and kicking as well as sitting and reclining. There are also some quiet moments, portraying mood through posture and lighting. Portraits and expressions round out the mix. Even the lighting is varied; some photos are evenly lit while others are more chiaroscuro, giving ample opportunity to observe the effects of shadowing. Clothing varies from simple drapery with arms crossed over the chest, to underwear, ordinary street cloths, and full-blown costumes.
ISBN: 9781936801404Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Art Models 10
The best way to improve in figure art is to practice, which requires quality reference material that inspires you. That's what the Art Models series is all about. With 100 high-resolution, full-page photos of nude art modelsâboth female and maleâ Art Models 10 will inspire students and professionals alike to practice and create finished works of art (which may be sold royalty free). For students, we provide a brief instructional exercise at the beginning of the book, written by author and art teacher Butch Krieger, that will have you improving right away using pose photos. The 100 distinct poses within the book were selected by a team of experienced art instructors to ensure they are genuinely useful for both students and professionals, with sections on hands, feet, and faces that give close-up views of these notoriously tricky areas. Art Models 10 also separates the disk and book, making possible a dramatic reduction to the cover price, even while increasing the number of pages. Become a better artist with Art Models 10 ânovices can practice and experts can perfect.
ISBN: 1936801477Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Virtual Walk-Through Museum Tours
- British Museum Virtual walkthrough via Google Maps
- Dali' Museum, Florida Scroll to bottom of page, select virtual tour.
- The J. Paul Getty Museum Click on the "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- Le Gallerie delle Uffizi, Firenze Click on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- The Louvre, Paris Scroll down, select virtual tour.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art, NYC Click on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- Musee Dorsay, Paris Virtual Tour Click on the "human" icon for the virtual tour, and the "explore" button for an interactive timeline of history.
- Museo Frida Kahlo Click on yellow "human" icon for virtual tour.
- Museo Reina Sofia Scroll down & select tour by clicking on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- Museu de Arte de São Paulo Assis Chateaubriand Click on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- Museum of Fine Arts, Houston Click on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- National Museum of Modern & Contemporary Art, Korea Click on the "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- The Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam Click on the yellow "human" icon for the virtual tour.
- Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam Click on the "human" icon for the virtual tour.
Anatomy, Artistic
Human figure in art
Figure Drawing
Figure painting
Portrait drawing technique
Drawing DVD's at East Library
Flipster Magazine Database
Art Databases
Limit your search to East Campus
After you have a result from your search, use Limit/Sort Search or Modify Search - blue link at the top
Choose E> East Campus Library
Click Submit
Muscles in motion : figure drawing for the comic book artistISBN: 0823031454
A History of costumeISBN: 9780486210308
Costume Resources
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window A unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
- ARTstor (now JSTOR) This link opens in a new window High-resolution art images: painting, sculpture, and more.ARTstor has moved to JSTOR.