It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AJS 212 - East - Juvenile Justice Procedures: Articles
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500. Most are peer reviewed. A good place to start for most social aspects and topics within Criminal Science.
The database includes approximately 4,700 titles and 3,300 in full text. A good and diverse mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Very much like Academic search premiere but not as easy to search.
A well rounded database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. It covers the psycholgical aspects of policing fairly well.
The database contains more than 1,800 full-text journals and about 300 books. It is designed a wide-range of topics to include alcohol & drug abuse counseling, forensics, and law enforcement & criminal justice. Most are trade and industry periodicals.
Contains popular magazines and some scholarly journals; approximately 1,700 periodicals in all. It covers general reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. Will cover common policing issues such as drugs use and terrorism.
Scholarly, Popular, Trade?
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.
Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.
Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.
Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.
Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.
Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.
Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.
Intended for practioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.
Academic or Scholarly Journal
In scholarly articles the author/s have credentials, use vocabulary unique to the field and give their references.
The Format of a Scholarly Article:
Methods and Data
Analysis and Results
Discussion and Conclusion
What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Does your instructor require you to use scholarly, or peer-reviewed articles? What the heck does that mean? Watch the video below from Vanderbuilt University to find out!