Get Started with Reference Resources
Begin by seeking some general background information about your topic. This page will guide you to reference resources available in print in the library and electronically through PCC's online catalog.
When accessing Gale Ebooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library) or another Reference Database from off campus, you may be asked to input your MyPima username and password. Use the same username and password you use when logging into MyPima.
Reference at the Library
The titles below are a sample of the subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books available at the Northwest Campus Library.
Great Events from History, the Ancient World by Call Number: D65 .G74 2004ISBN: 9781587651557Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Great Events from History, the Middle Ages by Call Number: D119 .G74 2005ISBN: 9781587651670Publication Date: 2004-11-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life and Culture by Call Number: CB351 .G743 2009ISBN: 9780313338014Publication Date: 2008-12-30
The Penguin Atlas of British and Irish History by Call Number: D65 .G74 2004ISBN: 0140295186Publication Date: 2002-05-01
Reference Online - Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can be a great starting place -- they provide facts and an overview of a topic. They also list books, journal articles, and other sources where you can get more in-depth information. The titles below are just a few examples of the electronic subject encyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Click the link below to search across the entire Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780684805078Publication Date: 1998-05-20Gale Virtual Reference Library
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000 by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780684314211Publication Date: 2004-02-01Gale Virtual Reference Library
Ancient Mesopotamia by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780737734416Publication Date: 2006-12-13Gale Virtual Reference Library
More Online Reference
PCC has a number of online reference databases that are great starting points for your research. Here are a few suggested resources:
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowReference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
- Ancient and Medieval History OnlineTimelines, maps, biographies and primary sources from medieval history
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowBiographies. Current & historical. Worldwide.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowA general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.