Anne Frank
Photo/Montage Source:
Anne Frank Museum
- Anne Frank Museum / Anne Frank Househistory, timeline, exhibitions, and a virtual tour of the Secret Annex behind the bookcase, where Anne & her family hid from the Nazis
Sisters in Sorrow: Voices of Care in the Holocaust
Sisters in Sorrow by
Although much has been written about the Holocaust and the Nazi labour and extermination camps, little specifically on women has appeared. In adapting to their horrific environments, women exhibited ingenuity and techniques that differed significantly from those of men. This is their story.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780890969700Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Jewish Responses to Persecution
Jewish Responses to Persecution 1942-1943 by
With its unique combination of primary sources and historical narrative, this volume provides an important new perspective on Holocaust history. Covering the peak years of the Nazi "Final Solution," it traces the Jewish struggle for survival, which became increasingly urgent in this period, including armed resistance and organized escape attempts. Shedding light on personal and public lives of Jews, the book provides compelling insights into a wide range of Jewish experiences during the Holocaust. Jewish individuals and communities suffered through this devastating period and reflected on the Holocaust differently, depending on their nationality, personal and communal histories and traditions, political beliefs, economic situation, and other circumstances. The rich spectrum of primary source material collected, including letters, diary entries, photographs, transcripts of speeches and radio addresses, newspaper articles, drawings, and institutional memos and reports, makes this volume an essential research tool and curriculum companion.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781442236264Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Jewish Responses to Persecution by
With its unique combination of primary sources and historical narrative, Jewish Responses to Persecution: 1944-1946, provides an important new perspective on Holocaust history. Covering the final year of Nazi destruction and the immediate postwar years, it traces the increasingly urgent Jewish struggle for survival, which included armed resistance and organized escape attempts. Shedding light on the personal and public lives of Jews, this book provides compelling insights into a wide range of Jewish experiences during the Holocaust. Jewish individuals and communities suffered through this devastating period and reflected on the Holocaust differently, depending on their nationality, personal and communal histories and traditions, political beliefs, economic situations, and other life history. The rich spectrum of primary source material collected, including letters, diary entries, photographs, transcripts of speeches and radio addresses, newspaper articles, drawings, and official government and institutional memos and reports, makes this volume an essential research tool and curriculum companion.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781442243361Publication Date: 2015-08-13
Survivor, Liberator & Witness Testimonies
- Nuremberg TrialsRead transcipts and testimony, review the chronology of the trials, view courtroom diagrams, photos, charts and more.
- Jewish survivors of the Holocaust (British Library) These recordings are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain. This collection contains interviews from two oral history projects, the Living Memory of the Jewish Community (C410) and the Holocaust Survivors' Centre Interviews (C830).
- USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive (VHA) The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive (VHA) is the world's largest collection of testimonies from survivors of the Holocaust. The digitized Archive contains nearly 52,000 testimonies in 32 languages (about half in English) and from 56 countries. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors, homosexual survivors, Jehovah’s Witness survivors, liberators and liberation witnesses, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, Roma and Sinti (Gypsy), survivors of eugenics policies, and war crimes trials participants.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies comprising 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.
Testimonies
- Voices of the HolocaustHear the earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust in this online archive.
- Voice/Vision - Holocaust Survivor Oral History ArchiveSince 1981, the library at the University of Michigan-Dearborn has archived hundreds of Holocaust survivor interviews.
Jewish Perspectives on the Holocuast
- Jewish Perspectives on the Holocuast Learn about everyday Jewish life during the Holocaust by engaging with a variety of Jewish sources from the period. Discover and analyze a diary, a letter, a newspaper article, a policy paper by an international Jewish organization, see a photograph, or watch film footage. Discuss with your fellow classmates the Jewish experience of the Holocaust and the importance of primary sources for our understanding of the world.