Skip to main content

ANT/HIS 127 - Downtown (James-Hernandez) History and Culture of the Mexican-American in the Southwest: Find Articles

Why Articles?

Articles come from a variety of sources including newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

Articles are useful because...

1. They are current

2. They cover very specific aspects of a particular topic

3. Articles from scholarly journals provide current research for very specific topics, and are peer-reviewed

Jing Tutorial

Click on the link below to watch this 5 minute video. You will learn how to locate scholarly journal articles for your Anthropology research papers.

Journal Databases

You can use the following suggested article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals.  You can also limit results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.

Studies in anthropology are multidisciplinary so you may need to look in other types of databases for sources, depending on your selected topic.  From the library homepage, click the 2nd link from the top titled "Articles & Databases" to browse library databases for articles.

Below is a screenshot of the "Articles & Databases" search options once you have opened it up:

Browse article databases by subject or by database name

Newspaper Databases

MegaSearch

Search for books, articles, and videos all from one search box using

MegaSearch

Scholarly vs Non-Scholarly Resources

Your instructor may ask your to use only scholarly resources for your paper.  What's the difference between a scholarly or non-scholarly resource?

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources include books and articles published in scholarly journals and books.  These sources are reviewed by a panel of experts in that particular field, and are often published by a professional association or a university press.  These experts ensure the information published is credible before accepting it for publication.

Non-Scholarly sources include websites, magazines, newspapers, and books that undergo no expert review prior to publishing.

Check with your instructor if you plan to use any non-scholarly websites and use the CRAAP test to evaluate them.

What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?

Does your instructor require you to use scholarly, or peer-reviewed articles?  Watch the video below from Vanderbuilt University to find out what peer-reviewed articles are.