It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalog to find books, electronic books, DVDs & VHS
Tips for seaching the catalog:
Use simple words or phrases, like "fashion careers" or "healthcare industry"
Don't worry about grammar, punctuation, or capitalization. If you spell something wrong, the catalog will offer suggestions
Find books at a specific campus by clicking the Modify Search button and selecting the campus library of your choice
Request items from any campus by clicking the Request button
More Books To Checkout!
These are just a small sampling of books related to career planning. To find even more, do a search with the keywords - vocational planning - or switch to a "Subject" search and do one for - vocational guidance - or - occupations.
I would also suggest that you sort your results by date. On your results page, under the search box you will see a choice of sorting - relevance is the default, but just click on date to have the newer items come to the top of the results.
Protect your business and family against cyber attacks Cybersecurity is the protection against the unauthorized or criminal use of electronic data and the practice of ensuring the integrity, confidentiality, and availability of information. Being "cyber-secure" means that a person or organization has both protected itself against attacks by cyber criminals and other online scoundrels, and ensured that it has the ability to recover if it is attacked. If keeping your business or your family safe from cybersecurity threats is on your to-do list, Cybersecurity For Dummies will introduce you to the basics of becoming cyber-secure! You'll learn what threats exist, and how to identify, protect against, detect, and respond to these threats, as well as how to recover if you have been breached! The who and why of cybersecurity threats Basic cybersecurity concepts What to do to be cyber-secure Cybersecurity careers What to think about to stay cybersecure in the future Now is the time to identify vulnerabilities that may make you a victim of cyber-crime -- and to defend yourself before it is too late.
Kaplan's Police Exams Prep 2020-2021 is your guide to acing the entrance exams for police departments across the United States. With up-to-date content review, realistic practice questions, and clear explanations, Police Exams Prep is your complete guide to becoming a police officer. We are so certain that Police Exams Prep offers the guidance you need that we guarantee it: After studying with our book, you'll pass the police exams--or you'll get your money back. Comprehensive Review 4 full-length practice tests with complete answer explanations Diagnostic quiz to identify your strengths and weaknesses End-of-chapter quizzes Concise content review and test-taking strategies to help you make the most of your time Expert Guidance Kaplan's experts make sure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test. We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.
"The book is an excellent resource for students in identifying the range of positions they can have in the fashion industry. Interviews with professionals are included to aid students in decision making about careers choices." o Lori Faulkner, Ferris State University, USA Learn what to expect on the job, required education and training, and the relationship of the role to the fashion industry as a whole. Among the more than 75 role descriptions are four new roles for Sustainability Officer, Transparency Officer, Data Analyst, and Reference Librarian. More than 175 images show you recent developments affecting the industry sectors and career opportunities. Case studies, Social media Strikes features, chapter summaries, key terms, online resources, discussion questions, and a glossary will help you identify which careers match your aptitudes, skill sets, and interests. New to this Edition In-depth job descriptions for a wider range of careers expanded to include Technical Designer, Brand Marketing Manager, and Spreader and Cutter, among others New sections on recycling and sustainability, trends in brand marketing, and portfolio development and presentation Fully updated online resources throughout the book Updated Case Studies in Career Exploration boxes showcase profiles of companies, interviews with individuals, industry scenarios, and insider tips Updated Appendices include sample resum s and career positions sorted by career areas, with Web links to salary and benefit information The Fashion Industry and Its Careers STUDIO Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary
Jobs in nursing are projected to grow 15% by 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations, because of an increased emphasis on preventive care; growing rates of chronic conditions, such as diabetes and obesity; and greater demand for healthcare services from the baby-boom population. This volume explores all levels of the nursing profession, to give students and adult job-seekers real-world information about their many career paths, including: Cardiovascular Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Nursing, Neonatal Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing and Women's Health Nursing.
If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings.
Your career as a top-notch paralegal starts here The demand for paralegal professionals is exploding, and Paralegal Career For Dummies, 2nd Edition explains the skills and requirements needed to pursue this rewarding career. Inside, you'll discover the ins and outs of paralegal skills, from preparing documents and performing legal research to obtaining certification, job hunting, and understanding legal concepts. Use this hands-on guide to help in your career considerations, bolster your paralegal training, or as an everyday on-the-job reference. Paralegal Career For Dummies will be your trusty assistant through all phases of your life as a paralegal, taking you forward with tips on networking and joining professional organizations that will enhance your career. Discover the job skills required for success as a paralegal Learn important legal concepts you'll need on the job Access forms, templates, and examples on the companion website Develop strategies to manage time and advance your career Complete with a companion website containing a wealth of valuable information, this book covers everything you need to become a top-notch paralegal.
Welcome to medical office professional careers If you are interested in a career in the medical office professional field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much money can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers eight main areas of the medical office professionals field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Nurse Practitioner -Physician Assistant -Medical Records and Health Information Technologist -Optometrist -Pharmacy Technician -Phlebotomist -Sonographer -Surgical Technologist
Welcome to the allied health professions If you are interested in a career in the health and fitness field (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers six main areas of health and fitness that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Physical therapy -Occupational therapy -Recreational therapy -Exercise physiology -Massage therapy -Athletic training
People who work in protective services may work with children, the elderly, disabled individuals, or animals. They may find work as part of security teams in the community or on school campuses; law enforcement and the judicial system; and health and human services organizations. Protective service workers may deal with criminals, victims, or survivors. There are a wide range of career possibilities for those wanting to work in protective services, including: Victim advocate, Campus security, Social worker, Animal control, Foster care, Elder care and Immigration officer.
The Actor's Career Bible is a practical guide to building an acting career. Based on a huge range of interviews with actors of all backgrounds at every level of the profession, industry experts, key organisations, casting directors, agents, producers, directors and many others, this guide covers all the essentials as well as sharing exclusive inside knowledge. Whether you're a recent graduate, a young actor or an experienced professional, The Actor's Career Bible will help you kick-start or reinvigorate your career in an industry famous for its high levels of competition. This in-depth guide will show you how to cope with the pressures and strains of being an actor and offers easy-to-follow advice on how to improve your chances of success.
A fascinating guide to a career in marine biology written by bestselling journalist Virginia Morell and based on the real-life experiences of an expert in the field--essential reading for someone considering a path to this profession. For the last two decades, Dr. Robin Baird has spent two months out of each year aboard a twenty-four-foot Zodiac boat in the waters off the big island of Hawai'i, researching the twenty-five species of whales and dolphins that live in the Pacific Ocean. His life may seem an impossible dream--but his career path from being the first person in his family to graduate college to becoming the leading expert on some of Hawai'i's marine mammals was full of twists and turns. Join Baird aboard his Zodiac for a candid look at the realities of life as a research scientist, from the ever-present struggles to secure grants and publish new data, to the joys of helping to protect the ocean and its inhabitants. You'll also learn pro tips, like the unexpected upsides to not majoring in marine biology and the usefulness of hobbies like sailing, birdwatching, photography, and archery. (You'll need good aim to tag animals with the tiny recording devices that track their movements.) Becoming a Marine Biologist is an essential guide for anyone looking to turn a passion for the natural world into a career. This is the most valuable informational interview you'll have--required reading for anyone considering this challenging yet rewarding path.