Library Tutorial 1: Getting Started with Research
Library Tutorial 2: Information Resources
Reference Resources
Start your research with some general background information about your topic using reference resources, like encyclopedias and dictionaries. Some reference resource will be available in print at the library. (See the bottom of this column, below.) Other reference resources are available electronically full text. (See the column at right.) The tutorials below will teach you about how to get started with your research, and how to choose among information resources.
Print Reference Books
A variety of print reference books is available at the library.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by
The understanding and enjoyment of a work of art depends as much on the story it depicts as on the artist's execution of it. But what were once biblical or classical commonplaces are not so readily recognizable today. This book relates in a succinct and readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire of Western art is based. Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance. More than just a dictionary, this text places these subjects in their narrative, historical, or mythological context and uses extensive cross-referencing to enhance and clarify the meanings of these themes for the reader. The definitive work by which others are compared, this volume has become an indispensable handbook for students and general appreciators alike. This wholly redesigned second edition includes a new insert of images chosen by the author, as well as a new preface and index to highlight the ideas, beliefs, and social and religious customs that form the background of much of this subject matter.
Call Number: N7560 .H34 1974 (West Reference)ISBN: 9780813343938Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Looking at Paintings by
What is tempera? What is foreshortening? What is fresco? These terms--and more than 100 others--are explained and illustrated in Looking at Paintings. First published in 1992, Looking at Paintings--now thoroughly revised and expanded--presents concise and readable explanations of the technical terms most often countered by museum-goers. This new edition pays special attention to the processes and methods of paintings conservation; it also offers definitions and examples of materials and techniques--such as color field and collage--that did not appear in the earlier volume. With illustrations, all in color, that have been specially chosen from the masterpieces in the J. Paul Getty Museum and other collections, this book will be invaluable to all those wishing to increase their understanding and enjoyment of the art of painting.
Call Number: ND31 .C37 2009 (West Reference)ISBN: 9780892369720Publication Date: 2009-11-24
Sister Wendy's 1000 Masterpieces by
The nun who is well-known for her art programs on PBS applies her intensity to what most inspires her in artists' work.
Call Number: ND50 .B396 1999 (West Reference)ISBN: 0789446030Publication Date: 1999-10-04
The Dictionary of Art by
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.
Call Number: N31.D5 1996 (West Reference)ISBN: 9780195170689Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by
Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work. It contains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correctingmisinformation that has found its way into other sources).For this new edition, entries have been thoroughly revised and updated, and more than fifty new entries have been added,for example Tracey Emin and Jack Vettriano. Browsers and readers with an interest in a particular area will benefit from the classified list of all the entries in the book - an invaluable innovation that makes it easy to see immediately which collectors, for example, or 18th-century French artists, or printmaking terms, are included in the dictionary. Written in an engaging manner with many entries enlivened by quotations from artists and critics, this dictionary is apleasure to browse, whilst its A-Z structure and classified list makes it perfect for quick reference. Previously entitled The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, this major new edition isessential for students and teachers of art, design, art theory, and art history, and it is ideal for artists, visitors to art exhibitions and galleries, and anyone with an interest in art.
Call Number: N33 .O93 1988 (West Reference)ISBN: 9780199532940Publication Date: 2009-09-03
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.
E-Reference Resources
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window Maps, charts, topic overviews, timelines, videos and themes in ancient and medieval history.
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new window Reference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Art Online (Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window Art and artists. Encyclopedia articles with images.