Featured Arts
African-American Artists, 1929-1945: Prints, Drawings, and Paintings in The Metropolitan Museum of ArtCall Number: N6538.N5 M47 2003ISBN: 0300098774
Chicano Art for Our Millennium: Collected Works from the Arizona State University Community by Call Number: N6538.M4 K45 2004ISBN: 1931010250
Chicano Visions: American Painters on the Verge by Call Number: ND238.M4 M37 2002ISBN: 0821228064Selections from comedian Cheech Marin's collection features Chicano artists on the cutting edge of contemporary art, such as Gronk, Patssi Valdez & Carlos Almaraz.
Asian American History & Art
- Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar
In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's best-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese Americans interned there during World War II. The Prints and Photographs Division at the Library of Congress presents "Suffering under a Great Injustice: Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar". See highlights online. - Smithsonian: Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
- Asian American Art Alliance Gallery
Over 800 images & 100 videos from the members of the NYC-based Asian American Art Alliance.
- Asian Americans in arts and entertainment (Wikipedia)
Listing of Asian Americans in the arts, including painting, graphic arts & architecture.
African American Art & Culture
- National Museum of African American History & CultureExplore art, history and culture of African Americans at this site sponsored by the Smithsonian
- List of African-American visual artists (Wikipedia)Lists of artists who work in painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, installation art, performance art, body art, conceptual art, video art, and digital art.
Featured Artists
Mysterium Fidei by Call Number: ND237.D527 A4 2007ISBN: 0867196882Hispanic artist, he specializes in sacred & religious themes
Santa Barraza, Artist of the Borderlands by Call Number: N6537.B2245 S26 2001ISBN: 089096906XShe's is a contemporary Tejana artist who teaches at Texas A&M-Kingsville and formerly taught at the Art Institute of Chicago.
Artists Bios
- Encyclopedia of African American artistsCall Number: N6538.N5 J44 2009 (EC, NW, WC, eBook)
- Encyclopedia of Arab American artistsCall Number: N6538.A73 O94 2008 (DV, NW & eBook)
- Encyclopedia of Asian American artistsCall Number: N6538.A83 H35 2007 (DV, WC)
- Encyclopedia of Native American artistsCall Number: N6538.A4 E94 2008 (DV, EC, NW, WC & eBook)
Latino Art & Culture
- Chicano Murals in TucsonThe contemporary Chicano mural scene seems to have started in Tucson in the mid-1970s as a part of the spreading Chicano movement of the American West and Southwest. Early murals celebrated Chicano cultural identity and such important political victories as the establishment of City-sponsored neighborhood centers in predominately Mexican American neighborhoods.
- El Museo del Barrio (New York)Explore El Museo del Barrio's Permanent Collection online. This is a searchable database that features works of art from by Caribbean, Latino and Latin American artists.
- National Hispanic Cultural CenterNHCC in Albuquerque, New Mexico, educates visitors about Hispanic culture throughout the world. Its programming and resources cover most art forms, as well as information on Hispanic history, culture, and cuisine.
- List of Hispanic and Latino Americans (Wikipedia)List of notable Hispanic and Latino Americans, including those in the visual and performing arts.
Native American Art & Culture
- National Museum of the American IndianExplore the art, history and culture of Native Americans at this site sponsored by the Smithsoniam
- List of Native American artists (Wikipedia)List of artists who work in basket-weaving, beading, glass, installation art, metalsmithing & jewelry-making, painting, performance art, pottery & sculpture, textiles and wood-carving.