Ask A Librarian
Research librarians can be contacted in many ways:
 |
LibAnswers
Search our FAQ knowledge bank |
 |
E-mail us at: Ask A Librarian
|
|
|
Hot Topics and Current Issues
Is your topic about a controversial issue or something in the news? Try one of our Hot Topic databases. They have articles, topic summaries, as well as links to related newspaper articles and multimedia.
- CQ Researcher: Congressional Quarterly provides useful and thoroughly researched information about a range of contemporary issues.
-
Points of View Reference Center: Multiple perspectives on current issues presented in overview essays and journal articles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Cross-curricular research database that provides informed, differing views to help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Controversial Issues
Writing a documented paper on a controversial issue requires that both sides of an issue be examined, requiring the researcher to take a position on one side or the other. In addition, you must defend your position against opposing points of views. You will need to find 4-6 credible sources.
Your research for a persuasive essay will involve one or more of the following:
- Choosing a controversial issue that interests you, based on your instructions in the assignment
- Locating reference sources to provide background information on your topic
- Locating journal or magazine articles according to the time periods specified in your assignment
- Locating websites specifically aimed at your topic
- Citing your sources in MLA style
- Preparing an Annotated Bibliography
General Reference Resources
Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowA general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of digital reference resources that provide invaluable topic information for getting started.
Factual Information: statistical data and more
- US Government Publications and InformationUse this to locate information published by federal and state governments.