MegaSearch and other Article Databases - WRT 101 - A. Holub - Research Guides at Pima Community College

What is a database?

According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

: a usually large collection of data(#2) organized especially for rapid search and retrieval (as by a computer)

Sources published by well-known publishing companies, universities, research groups, etc. -- such as:

What are some examples of databases you may use daily (non-academic)?

MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
Search dozens of databases and the library catalog. Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop criticalthinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Each of the main essays includes links to related full-text articles hand-picked by the editor.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is covers today’s hottest social issues, and contains pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, podcasts, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject area

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Is a next-generation digital magazine solution that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile device