The following document provides the framework for College librarians in developing collections of print, electronic and non-print materials to serve the educational and intellectual needs of the Pima Community College community, and provides Library stakeholders with information about the guidelines College librarians follow to develop Library collections: Current Collection Development Guidelines Rev Sept 2021
The Pima Community College Library empowers our patrons to achieve their academic and life goals, providing research support, instruction, collections and spaces for intellectual exploration.
To carry out its mission, the Library operates under these guidelines:
Improve Student Success
Support current and future curriculum
Promote information and digital literacies through individual and group instruction to develop self-sufficient learners
Enrich the Community Through Engagement
Serve as a locus of discovery of the many diverse expressions of human culture, scientific and artistic attainment, and other areas of human intellectual endeavor and experience as represented through the book and other formats which transmit culture and knowledge
Promote diversity in its collections, services, and staffing to meet the varied needs of our community
Cultivate Institutional Excellence Through Continuous Improvement
Forge partnerships with instructional faculty, staff, and administrators to improve the educational process, and proactively seek to understand other College units’ missions and help them succeed.
Establish collaborative partnerships with other area libraries and outside agencies via networks, collection sharing, and other reciprocal agreements to improve information access to our students, faculty and staff, and the community at large.