What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Does your instructor require you to use "peer-reviewed articles"? These are also sometimes called "scholarly" or "academic" articles. Watch the video below from Wayne State University Libraries to find out what to look for.
Scholarly vs Non-Scholarly Resources
Your instructor may ask your to use only scholarly resources for your paper. What's the difference between a scholarly or non-scholarly resource?
Scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources include books and articles published in scholarly journals, encyclopedias, and books. These sources are reviewed by a panel of experts in that particular field, and are often published by a professional association or a university press. These experts ensure the information published is credible before accepting it for publication.
Non-Scholarly sources include websites, magazines, newspapers, and books that undergo no expert review prior to publishing.
Check with your instructor if you plan to use any non-scholarly websites and use the CRAAP test to evaluate them.
Journals about Arizona History
- Journal of Arizona History
3-year delay in JSTOR. Contact your Librarian for newer issues. - Arizoniana (1960-1964)continued by Journal of Arizona History (1965- present)
- Journal of the Southwest
5-year delay in JSTOR. Contact your Librarian for newer issues. - Arizona and the West (1959-1986)continued by Journal of the Southwest (1987- present)
Library Databases: History
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window"Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror." -Gale
- Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window"Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field." - Gale
- Salem Press: History This link opens in a new windowOverviews of key events and people across history.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines of Arizona
- Arizona Highways OnlineThis archive includes 85 years' of full-color Arizona Highways magazines (latest 4-months embargoed). Searchable by date or keywords. Award-winning photography!
- Arizona Historical Digital NewspapersIncludes historic newspapers from the first Arizona newspaper published in 1859, to current titles. Not all titles are digitized.
- Arizona Periodicals and MagazinesThis collection of magazines and periodicals includes titles about or published in Arizona from early to mid 20th century and is an important resource to increase understanding of local and state history and culture. Titles cover subjects such as statehood, tourism, women’s rights, automobiles, and also include industry journals and newsletters.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressThe Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.