Library Tutorial 4: Using Research Databases
What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?
Does your instructor require you to use scholarly, or peer-reviewed articles? Watch the video below from Vanderbuilt University to find out what peer-reviewed articles are.
eHRAF Archaeology
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world.
- eHRAF - Archaeology This link opens in a new window"eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords." -eHRAF
World Cultures - eHRAF
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
- eHRAF - World Cultures This link opens in a new window"eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords." -eHRAF
Databases that Cover Archeology
You can use article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journal
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, books, and primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Scientific American This link opens in a new windowFull-text, full-color articles (1993-current).
To see the full run of archival issues - click the "Latest Issues" button after accessing the database. - Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research articles from one of the most famous science journals in the world.
MegaSearch
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
Search dozens of databases and the library catalog. Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop criticalthinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Find articles, books, videos, and more from a single search box.