Primary Sources
images courtesy: Britannica ImageQuest and ArtStor
Primary Sources in PCC Databases
PCC's History Databases: use advanced search and filter search results to photos/images/documents, etc.
- Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window"Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror." -Gale
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowReference information about daily life of different cultures through history.
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new windowAmerican history and popular culture, including fads and entertainment.
- ARTstor (now JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowYou will need to register with ArtStor using your MyPima username and password before you can download images.
- Image Quest This link opens in a new windowOver 2.5 million copyright-cleared images for educational use at Pima Community College
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Minnesotahistory. (2015, September 1). Primary vs. Secondary Sources [Video]. https://youtu.be/TgU1BcDStK0
Primary Sources on the Web
Digital Public Library of America
- Images organized by topic.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions.
- Images organized by topic.
- Most images are in the public domain.
National Archives, Photograph Collections
- Images organized by topic and date.
- Most images are in the public domain.
Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division and Library of Congress Photos
- Images organized by collection.
- Copyright varies. See individual items for details on obtaining permissions
Library of Congress, Chronicling American Historic Newspapers
- Search U.S. newspapers from the 18th to the mid 20th century
- Most materials are in the public domain.
Smithsonian Collections Online
- Images may be used freely for non-commercial purposes.
- Images, information and other materials which can be used freely in educational settings.
The Metropolitan Museum Collection Online
- 400,000 high-resolution digital images from the Metropolitan Museum collection.
- Browsable via artist, maker, culture, object type, material, geographic location, era, and department.
- Downloadable.
- For non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
- Copyright on NYPL digital images varies. See individual item for more details.
- For permissions and information on use contact: permissions@nypl.org.
Life Magazine Photo Archive (powered by Google)
- Most images will have copyright restrictions, but may be usable under Fair Use