Federal Register, Indian Affairs Bureau: This list contains the names of tribes and nations officially recognized by the government of the United States of America.
Tribal Directory: Created by the National Congress of American Indians, this directory provides contact information and website addresses for tribes and nations.
Essential Understandings: This document, from the National Museum of the American Indian, covers key points for understanding Native American history and contemporary issues.
Heard Museum Digital Library: The Heard Museum in Phoenix is a premier museum focused on American Indian artists and artwork. Search their digital library to learn more about contemporary and historical Native American artists.
Indian Country Today: "Indian Country Today is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives. Indian Country Today is the largest news site that covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas."
Indianz.com: A news website focused on stories of importance and interest to Native Americans.
Lessons & Resources: Although this website from the National Musuem of the American Indian is designed for teachers, it also links to useful websites. Use the menus near the top to explore by nation, subject, region, language, and more.
North American Ethnobotany Database: NAEB provides information on how Native American groups have used plants for food, medicine, or cultural practices.
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal: This website is home to many 'digital artifacts,' curated and described by members of tribes and nations in the Northwest.
Smithsonian Institution Collections: The Smithsonian Institution includes the National Museum of the American Indian and the National Anthropological Archives, both of which have large holdings of materials related to Native American history and culture. (Searching the SI Collections can be tricky, so please ask for help if you need it!)