Websites
- AFL-CIO American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
Websites
Career Resource Meta-Sites
- Arizona Career Information System (AzCIS): If you are on campus, you can create a login. If you are off campus and you do NOT already have an AZCIS login/password, please contact a librarian via Ask a Librarian or LiveChat for assistance. (right side of the webpage)
- Career Articles and Advice Index: from the Princeton Review
- Career Browser: College Board
- CareerBuilder (https://www.careerbuilder.com/
) - Careerjet: A jobsite search engine for U.S. employment
- CareerOneStop : US Government site with career exploration, information on careers (projected employment, income, education needed, certificates, and more.
- CareerShip: Designed for middle schoolers, this site is still useful for PCC students, especially for English as a Second Language students interested in the career planning process.
- College Grad Job Hunter: "Your link to life after college." Focus is on the entry-level employee looking for a job
- Exploring Psychology Careers: great site to explore the wide variety of careers in psychology; includes insights into highest paying, most demanding fields. Many include interviews with professionals in their fields. Sponsored by: Pshychology.org
- O*Net Online
- Occupational Outlook Handbook: Current edition
Student Success Tool @ Pima (The MyCareerPath at PCC)
Value of a College Degree
- The Big Payoff: Educational Attainment and Synthetic Estimates of Work-Life Earnings
- The Value of a College Degree
Selecting a College Major
- Find a College: Majors & Careers Central
- PCC Advising: Career Counseling and Choosing a program or degree links can be found on this webpage
- PCC Career Services: information on selecting a career/program, including an FAQ.
Career Resources
Arizona
- Arizona's Apprenticeship System: Information on apprentice programs that have registered with the State of Arizona. Includes information on program, participants, application and more. See a campus Counseling/Advising center if you have any questions about the apprenticeships at Pima Community College.
- Arizona Career Information System: If you do NOT already have an AZCIS login/password, please contact a librarian via Ask a Librarian or LiveChat for assistance. (right side of the webpage)
- Arizona Workforce Connection
- Educational Services and Resources Career & Technical Education - information from the Arizona Department of Education on teacher certification, internships and more.
Wages/Salaries
- JobStar: Profession specific salaries
- National Compensation Survey
- Salary.com
- Salary Potential 2020: from the Economic Research Institute
- PayScale
Electronic Journals and Newsletters
- CareerJournal.com: from the Wall Street Journal
- Occupational Outlook Quarterly Online
Resumes
- My Perfect Resume: Many resume templates and cover letters.
Start Your Own Business
- Arizona Small Business Association Whether you’re a startup or have been operating for decades, we provide access to valuable business resources. These resources include our partners, our Business Mentor Program, and access to complimentary marketing tools.
- Small Business Development Center (PCC) The Pima Community College (PCC) Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is available to help companies: Launch your business Grow your business Sustain your business profitably The counselors are a seasoned team of professionals, and they are able to offer no-cost one-on-one counseling. The center has been awarded the Center of Excellence for their commitment and assistance to clients. In addition to the one-on-one counseling available, the center also offers training and workshops specific to the small business owner. These include Profitability, Government Procurement, Access to capital, etc.
Streaming Videos
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Try searching "career in X" (such as, "career in fashion") to see if they have films in your area of career interest. Try also "X vocation*" (such as "fashion vocation*)
Career Databases
- Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Topical Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowArt, art history, and criticism articles from 330 journals and magazines.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals from a range of medical disciplines.
- ProQuest Computing This link opens in a new window
Computer Science Database includes publications focused on computing and information systems, computer security, database design, software development, and web commerce. Includes full-text peer reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and trade journals.
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new windowK-12 and higher education. Mostly scholarly articles. Includes the ERIC database.
- Women's Wear Daily This link opens in a new window (See Careers & Classifieds" section.) "Often called 'the fashion bible, Women's Wear Daily serves as the voice of authority, international newswire and agent of change for the fashion, beauty and retail industries. First and foremost, WWD is dedicated to providing a balance of timely, credible business news and key women's fashion trends to a dedicated readership. This readership includes retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, socialites and trend makers."
Newspapers
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window"Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks." -EBSCO
Arizona Career Information Systems
AzCIS is designed to provide educational, career, and occupational information to help students in making better-informed career and school choices.
Search for the name of your occupation or click "Occupations" to browse for information about the occupation you are interested in.
Citing a Page in AzCIS
AzCIS does not automatically generate citations. To cite a page in AzCIS, follow this general format for citing a webpage with no author in MLA 8:
“Title of the Page.” Title of the Web Site, Publisher or Sponsor, Date of publication, url.
For all AzCIS pages, the title of website, publisher, and date of publication should be the same, so you just need to fill in the page's title and it's URL:
"Title of Page." Arizona Career Information System, University of Oregon, 2018, page URL.
Here's a completed example for the AzCIS page about chefs:
"Chefs and Dinner Cooks." Arizona Career Information System, University of Oregon, 2018,
https://azcis.intocareers.org/OccInfo.aspx?SourceState=AZ&OccID=100033&TopicID=0.