Arizona Career Information System
Looking for general information on a variety of careers? Arizona Career Information System (AZCIS) is a comprehensive way or assessing who you are and what you want to do.
Please note: this library database is only available to use on-campus.
Used by students for:
- Occupations
- Programs of Study
- Arizona Schools
- Scholarships
- Financial Aid
- Interest Profiler
- SKILLS
Remember that you have to cite the information.
AzCIS does not automatically generate citations. To cite a page in AzCIS, follow this general format for citing a webpage with no author in MLA 8:
“Title of the Page.” Title of the Web Site, Publisher or Sponsor, Date of publication, url.
For all AzCIS pages, the title of website, publisher, and date of publication should be the same, so you just need to fill in the page's title and it's URL:
"Title of Page." Arizona Career Information System, University of Oregon, 2019, page URL.
Here's a completed example for the AzCIS page about chefs:
"Chefs and Dinner Cooks." Arizona Career Information System, University of Oregon, 2019,
https://azcis.intocareers.org/OccInfo.aspx?SourceState=AZ&OccID=100033&TopicID=0.
Vocational Article Database
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals.
This library database offers articles from over 1,800 journals and magazines aimed at all kinds of occupations.
Career and Technical Education
- Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new windowA definitive source for vocational information.
This library database offers articles from trade journals for many specific occupations, including auto mechanics, building professions, and healthcare.
Career Information Center Encyclopedia
- Career Information CenterThis series of books is available digitally through the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Many careers have short, readable articles in this series.
Use the "search within publication" box on the upper right to search your career.
Megasearch
- MegaSearch This link opens in a new window
Search dozens of databases and the library catalog. Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop criticalthinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Career Related Web Resources
- Occupational Outlook HandbookPublished by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). The site contains detailed information related to hundreds of jobs and careers.
- Overview of BLS Wage Data by Area and OccupationBLS wage data are available by occupation for the nation, regions, states, and many metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas.
- Overview of BLS Statistics by OccupationBLS publishes a large amount of information by occupation, including career information, employment levels and projections, and data on earnings and working conditions.
- Career OneStopA source for career exploration, training & jobs. Provided by the US Department of Labor
- O*Net OnlineO*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more.