Using Pima Databases
You can use Pima databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals and to locate images and videos.
When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input the barcode number from your current barcoded student id or faculty/staff library card.
Tips for Using Databases
Features: You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Limiters: After your initial search, you may be able to limit your results by topic by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS or DESCRIPTORS.
Cite: Many of the library databases include MLA citations. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the MLA citation into your Works Cited page! (Although you should always look them over to make sure they are correct.)
Top Cultural Research Databases
You can use the following databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, specialized books and encyclopedias. When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.
Research Databases related to Intercultural Perspectives:
- African American Experience
- American Indian Experience
- Latino American Experience
- Pop Culture Universe: information on American and world popular culture arranged by decade
- History Reference Center: Full text journals, books, historical documents, and biographies. With photos, maps and historical video.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases:
- Ethnic News Watch: Articles from the ethnic, minority and native presses.
- Historical Newspapers: The New York Times from 1851-2005
- MasterFILE Premier: Popular magazines, scholarly journals, and more
Video Collections:
- Films on Demand: Streaming videos on a variety of topics