Get Started with Reference Resources
Begin your research by seeking word definitions and general background information about your topic using reference resources. Some reference resources will be available in print at the library. Other reference resources are available electronically.
Print Reference Books
Below are just a few of the print reference books available at the West Campus library.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music by ISBN: 9780943818368Publication Date: 2002-01-01The New Grove Dictionary of American Music is the most comprehensive and enlightening history of America's musical heritage ever published. American Grove is focused solely on the unique styles and traditions of American music. It covers popular musical forms such as country, rock, pop, soul, folk, blues, jazz, bluegrass, and big band.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by ISBN: 9781561592395Publication Date: 2003-02-11The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is an encyclopedic dictionary of music and musicians. It is one of the largest reference works on western music.
The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians by ISBN: 0674000846Publication Date: 1999-11-29This compact guide to the history and performance of music is both authoritative and a pleasure to use. With entries drawn and condensed from the widely acclaimed New Harvard Dictionary of Music and its companion The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, it is a dependable reference for home and classroom and for professional and amateur musicians.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by ISBN: 9780199578108Publication Date: 2012-10-01The Oxford Dictionary of Music offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
Online Reference Resources
Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowA general knowledge English-language encyclopedia.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowBiographies. Current & historical. Worldwide.
- NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming classical, jazz, blues, and world music. (Limited to 10 users at a time.)