Credit Your Images
Just like using databases, books, and websites for research, you must CITE any images you use in your presentations. See the Write and Cite guide for how to format citations of images.
Image Quest
The best education images all in one place
- Access approximately three million rights-cleared images from the best collections in the world
- Image Quest This link opens in a new windowOver 2.5 million copyright-cleared images for educational use at Pima Community College
ArtSTOR Image Database
ArtSTOR Digital Library
ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. NOTE: You will need to register with ArtSTOR if you wish to download images or create image groups.
ARTstor: Registering for ARTstor Tutorial
- ARTstor (now JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
High-resolution art images: painting, sculpture, and more.
ARTstor has moved to JSTOR.
Open-access Image Sites
How to cite a digital image outside of the Library Databases:
Provide the artist's name, the work of art italicized, the date of creation, the institution and city where the work is housed. Follow this initial entry with the name of the Website in italics, and the date of access.
Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid. Museo Nacional del Prado, www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74. Accessed 22 May 2006.
Klee, Paul. Twittering Machine. 1922. Museum of Modern Art, New York. The Artchive, www.artchive.com/artchive/K/klee/twittering_machine.jpg.html. Accessed May 2006.