Archives of the US Constitution - Bill of Rights - Amendments
Librarian Recommendations
How to Read the Constitution--And Why by
An insightful, urgent, and perennially relevant handbook that lays out in common sense language how the United States Constitution works, and how its protections are eroding before our eyes--essential reading for anyone who wants to understand and parse the constantly breaking news about the backbone of American government. The Constitution is the most significant document in America. But do you fully understand what this valuable document means to you? In How to Read the Constitution and Why, legal expert and educator Kimberly Wehle spells out in clear, simple, and common sense terms what is in the Constitution, and most importantly, what it means. In compelling terms, she describes how the Constitution's protections are eroding--not only in express terms but by virtue of the many legal and social norms that no longer shore up its legitimacy--and why every American needs to heed to this "red flag" moment in our democracy. This invaluable--and timely--resource covers nearly every significant aspect of the Constitution, from the powers of the President and how the three branches of government are designed to hold each other accountable, to what it means to have individual rights--including free speech, the right to bear arms, the right to be free from unreasonable searches and seizures, and the right to an abortion. Finally, the book explains why it has never been more important than now for all Americans to know how our Constitution works--and why, if we don't step in to protect it now, we could lose its protections forever. How to Read the Constitution and Why is essential reading for anyone who cares about maintaining an accountable government and the individual freedoms that the Constitution enshrines for everyone in America--regardless of political party.
Call Number: KF4541 .W44 2019ISBN: 9780062914361Publication Date: 2019
A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution by
The Constitution is not so simple that it explains itself--nor so complex that only experts can understand it. In this accessible, nonpartisan quick reference, historian Andrew Arnold provides concise explanations of the Constitution's meaning and history, offering little-known facts and anecdotes about every article and all twenty-seven amendments. This handy guide won't tell you what the Constitution ought to say, nor what it ought to mean. It will tell you what the Constitution says and what it has meant. A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution presents a straightforward way to understand the American Constitutional system. Without wading through lengthy legal prose, heavy historical analysis, or polemical diatribes, you can easily find out what the emoluments clause means, learn about gerrymandering and separation of powers, or read a brief background on why slaves in colonial America were considered 3/5 of a person. Small enough to put in your pocket, backpack, or briefcase, A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution can be used to comprehend current events, dig deeper into court cases, or sort out your own opinions on constitutional issues.
Call Number: KF4550.Z9 A76 2018ISBN: 9781626165823Publication Date: 2018
OMG WTF does the Constitution actually say? : a non-boring guide to how our democracy is supposed to work
OMG WTF Does the Constitution Actually Say? by
Do you know what the Constitution ACTUALLY says? This witty and highly relevant annotation of our founding document is the go-to guide to how our government really works (or is supposed to work). Written by political savant and entertainment veteran, Ben Sheehan, and vetted for accuracy by experts in the field of constitutional law, OMG WTF Does the Constitution Actually Say? is an entertaining and accessible guide that explains what the Constitution actually lays out. With clear notes and graphics on everything from presidential powers to Supreme Court nominations to hidden loopholes, Sheehan walks us through the entire Constitution from its preamble to its final amendment (with a bonus section on the Declaration of Independence). Besides putting the Constitution in modern-day English so that it can be understood, OMG WTF Does the Constitution Actually Say? gives readers all of the info they need to be effective voters and citizens in the November elections and beyond.
Call Number: KF4525 .S54 2020ISBN: 9780762498482Publication Date: 2020
The Cambridge companion to the United States Constitution
The Cambridge Companion to the United States Constitution by
This Companion provides a broad, historically informed introduction to the study of the US constitutional system. In place of the usual laundry lists of cases, doctrines, and theories, it presents a picture of the constitutional system in action, with separate sections devoted to constitutional principles, organizational structures, and the various legal and extra-legal 'actions' through which litigators and average citizens have attempted to bring about constitutional change. Finally, the volume covers a number of subjects that are rarely discussed in works aimed at a general audience, but which are critical to ensuring that constitutional rights are honored in the day-to-day lives of citizens. These include standing and causes of action, suits against officeholders, and the inner workings of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC). This Companion places present-day constitutional controversies in historical context, and offers insights from a range of disciplines, including history, political science, and law.
Call Number: KF4550 .C36 2018ISBN: 9781107094666Publication Date: 2018
Companions to the United States Constitution
Reading the Constitution by
A provocative, brilliant analysis by recently retired Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer that deconstructs the textualist philosophy of the current Supreme Court's supermajority and makes the case for a better way to interpret the Constitution. "You will not read a more important legal work this election year." --Bob Woodward, Washington Post reporter and author of fifteen #1 New York Times bestselling books "A dissent for the ages." --The Washington Post "Breyer's candor about the state of the court is refreshing and much needed." --The Boston Globe The relatively new judicial philosophy of textualism dominates the Supreme Court. Textualists claim that the right way to interpret the Constitution and statutes is to read the text carefully and examine the language as it was understood at the time the documents were written. This, however, is not Justice Breyer's philosophy nor has it been the traditional way to interpret the Constitution since the time of Chief Justice John Marshall. Justice Breyer recalls Marshall's exhortation that the Constitution must be a workable set of principles to be interpreted by subsequent generations. Most important in interpreting law, says Breyer, is to understand the purposes of statutes as well as the consequences of deciding a case one way or another. He illustrates these principles by examining some of the most important cases in the nation's history, among them the Dobbs and Bruen decisions from 2022 that he argues were wrongly decided and have led to harmful results.
Call Number: KF4550 .B728 2024ISBN: 9781668021538Publication Date: 2024
How to Interpret the Constitution by
From New York Times bestselling author Cass Sunstein, a timely and powerful argument for rethinking how the U.S. Constitution is interpreted The U.S. Supreme Court has eliminated the right to abortion and is revisiting other fundamental questions today--about voting rights, affirmative action, gun laws, and much more. Once-arcane theories of constitutional interpretation are profoundly affecting the lives of all Americans. In this brief and urgent book, Harvard Law School professor Cass Sunstein provides a lively introduction to competing approaches to interpreting the Constitution--and argues that the only way to choose one is to ask whether it would change American life for the better or worse. If a method of interpretation would eliminate the right of privacy, allow racial segregation, or obliterate free speech, it would be unacceptable for that reason. But some Supreme Court justices are committed to "originalism," arguing that the meaning of the Constitution is settled by how it was publicly understood when it was ratified. Originalists insist that their approach is dictated by the Constitution. That, Sunstein argues, is a big mistake. The Constitution doesn't contain instructions for its own interpretation. Any approach to constitutional interpretation needs to be defended in terms of its broad effects--what it does to our rights and our institutions. It must respect those rights and institutions--and safeguard the conditions for democracy itself. Passionate and compelling, How to Interpret the Constitution is essential reading for anyone who is concerned about how the Supreme Court is changing the rights and lives of Americans today.
Call Number: KF4550 .S834 2023ISBN: 9780691252049Publication Date: 2023
The Constitution of the United States and Other Patriotic Documents by
PRINTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA! Rediscover the ideals that have kept America free for more than two centuries. The United States has achieved more for human freedom and prosperity than any other nation on earth. Undoubtedly, we owe our success to those who fought and, in many cases, died to protect our ideals. In this beautiful keepsake volume, those ideals are preserved for every American patriot. With an introduction and commentary by acclaimed legal analyst Gregg Jarrett, this deluxe collection includes the Constitution, the Declaration of Independence, the Bill of Rights, select Federalist Papers, and the Articles of Confederation. Also within these pages are the words of generations of Americans who have built upon the founders' legacy and left their own mark on American history, including: Frederick Douglass's July 4th speech Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address and Second Inaugural Address The Emancipation Proclamation Victoria C. Woodhull's Address on Women's Suffrage Albert Einstein's Letter to Roosevelt on the Atomic Bomb Ronald Reagan's "A Time for Choosing" speech and Berlin Wall speech Barack Obama's Announcement of the death of Osama Bin Laden Donald J. Trump's speech on the 75th anniversary of D-Day In an era when too many have forgotten our nation's past, these words are needed more than ever to rekindle the American spirit. The founders' great experiment isn't over. The Constitution of the United States and Other Patriotic Documents spans the centuries of our history to inspire all who treasure our country's great heritage.
Call Number: E173 .J283 2023ISBN: 9780063275386Publication Date: 2023
The Constitution Explained by
The United States Constitution is a short document, and it is written in general language, which leaves much of the meaning unwritten and open to interpretation. Dig into this important document and watershed in the history of governments! Explore the history, the various clauses, amendments, and interpretations. Understand your rights (and responsibilities)! From the Constitutional Convention to the creation of the Constitution and its eventual ratification, and to the Bill of Rights and the thorny constitutional issues of today, The Constitution Explained: A Guide for Every American covers the history, our founding fathers' goals, and the varied interpretations of the Constitution that have informed the politics and functioning of the U.S. government. You'll discover ... How the Constitution makes the United States of America different from many countries around the world because it gives us a peaceful mechanism to resolve governmental issues The rights and responsibilities of U.S. citizens An in-depth look at the freedoms enshrined in the Bill of Rights "The Miracle at Philadelphia" and "the Great Compromise" The many different methods used to interpret the Constitution Controversial U.S. Supreme Court picks throughout history and how the size and tenure of the Supreme Court justices has long been a contentious issue The remarkable evolution of death penalty jurisprudence The "Bill" Process, Pardon Power, Power of Judicial Review, and other stated and implied powers found in Articles I (Congress), II (Presidency) and III (Judicial) And much, much more! A guide to the citizenship and the American government, The Constitution Explained sheds a light on the differing and changing interpretations of the many broadly worded key phrases in the Constitution. You'll learn how the Constitution has been adopted to different times and various situations. You'll learn what it does--and does not--promise U.S. citizens. Richly illustrated, it also has a helpful bibliography, glossary, and extensive index. This invaluable resource is designed to help you understand the power and strength of the U.S. Constitution!
Call Number: KF4550 .H83 2022ISBN: 9781578597505Publication Date: 2022
A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments by
The U.S. Constitution and its 27 amendments (including the Bill of Rights) is a living document, as evidenced by new laws and Supreme Court rulings that with each passing year change how the Constitution's guidelines are interpreted and implemented.A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments is designed to show students just how revolutionary the Constitution was--and how relevant it remains today. This seventh revised edition of the Companion begins by revisiting the key events leading to the Constitution's ratification, including the writing of the Declaration of Independence and the proceedings of the Constitutional Convention, then explores the document article by article, amendment by amendment, to help readers better understand how each section of the document shapes the world we live in today.In addition, the Companion illuminates how new laws, political debates, and Supreme Court decisions are continually reshaping our understanding of the Constitution and its role in American life and society--including such essential and foundational elements of democracy as voting; elections; the peaceful transfer of power; equality before the law; civil rights and liberties; and the duties, responsibilities, and obligations of the nation's three branches of government.
Call Number: KF4550 .V55 2021ISBN: 9781440877940Publication Date: 2021
Graphic Novels About The Constitution
Constitution Illustrated by
The master of the visual mash-up returns with his signature idiosyncratic take on the Constitution R. Sikoryak is the master of the pop culture pastiche. In Masterpiece Comics, he interpreted classic literature with defining twentieth-century comics. With Terms and Conditions, he made the unreadable contract that everyone signs, and no one reads, readable. He employs his magic yet again to investigate the very framework of the country with Constitution Illustrated. By visually interpreting the complete text of the supreme law of the land with more than a century of American pop culture icons, Sikoryak distills the very essence of the government legalese from the abstract to the tangible, the historical to the contemporary. Among Sikoryak's spot-on unions of government articles and amendments with famous comic-book characters: the Eighteenth Amendment that instituted prohibition is articulated with Homer Simpson running from Chief Wiggum; the Fourteenth Amendment that solidifies citizenship to all people born and naturalized in the United States is personified by Ms. Marvel; and, of course, the Nineteenth Amendment offering women the right to vote is a glorious depiction of Wonder Woman breaking free from her chains. American artists from George Herriman (Krazy Kat) and Charles Schulz (Peanuts) to Raina Telgemeier (Sisters) and Alison Bechdel (Dykes to Watch Out For) are homaged, with their characters reimagined in historical costumes and situations. We the People has never been more apt.
Call Number: East - Graphic NovelsISBN: 1770463968Publication Date: 2020
