Top Article Databases
Using the Databases
You can use article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals.
When accessing the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input the barcode number from your current barcoded student ID or faculty/staff library card.
Tips:
Features: You can print, email, and save articles from databases.
Limiters: After your initial search, you may be able to limit your results by topic by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS or DESCRIPTORS.
Cite: Many of the library databases include MLA citations. If you use an article from a database, you can simply copy the MLA citation into your Works Cited page! (Although you should always look them over to make sure they are correct.)
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAn unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals for academic research.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles and some book chapters on education at all levels.
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional articles and other documents covering education.
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new windowK-12 and higher education. Mostly scholarly articles. Includes the ERIC database.
Online Encyclopedias
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online database that allows searching of many encyclopedias at the same time, including:
Encyclopedia of Education
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Psychology of Classroom Learning
World Education Encyclopedia
Child Development
Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
To access these reference materials, click on the link below:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window