Online Reference Resources
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online database that searches many encyclopedias at once, including the Encyclopedia of Anthropology.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowSpecialized encyclopedias and dictionaries on the arts, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, science and social science
Dr. Rosenstein's APA Style Guide
Get Started with Reference / Background Resources
Begin your research by seeking some general background information about your topic using reference resources. Some reference resource will be available in print at the library. Other reference resources are available electronically. This page will guide you in all types of reference resources.
Reference / Background Books
Encyclopedias can be a great starting place -- they give you facts and provide an overview of a topic. They also list books, journal articles, and other sources where you can get more in-depth information.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 0415409780Publication Date: 2010-01-20e-book
Encyclopedia of Anthropology (ebook) by ISBN: 9781412925457Publication Date: 2006ebook.
This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Call Number: QH360.2 .E54 2002 v.1-2ISBN: 0195148657West (reference; in library use only)
Anthropology: the Basics by Call Number: GN25 .M47 2005ISBN: 9780415331203Publication Date: 2005Downtown, East
The ultimate guide for the student encountering anthropology for the first time, Anthropology: The Basics explains and explores key anthropological concepts including: what is anthropology? how can we distinguish cultural differences from physical ones? what is culture, anyway? how do anthropologists study culture? what are the key theories and approaches used today? How has the discipline changed over time? This student-friendly text provides an overview of the fundamental principles of anthropology and is an invaluable guide for anyone wanting to learn more about this fascinating subject.
Encountering cultural difference -- Misunderstanding cultural difference -- Social do's and don'ts -- African political systems -- Anthropology, history, and imperialism -- Culture and language -- Culture and nature -- The end of the tribes -- Culture and the individual -- Critical anthropology
Library Tutorial 1: Getting Started with Research
Library Tutorial 2: Information Resources
