Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Narrowing Your Topic by Focusing On...
- Social Aspect
- Cultural Aspect
- Historical Aspect (time)
- Combining two similar topics*
- Combining two or more of the aspects above
- Join together related concepts
The Five Commandments of Writing Research Papers
- Thou shalt do some background reading, think hard, and speak with the professor in order to identify a topic.
- Thou shalt have a clear research question.
- Thou shalt do real research.
- Thou shalt make an argument.
- Thou shalt write well.
Encyclopedias: Background Research
Hot Topics & Current Issues
Points of View Reference Center Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Each of the main essays includes links to related full-text articles hand-picked by the editor.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context is covers today’s hottest social issues, and contains pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, periodical articles, statistical tables, charts and graphs, images, podcasts, etc.
CQ Researcher CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.