Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Aging
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Poverty in America: An Encyclopedia
and more...
Finding General Topic Information
Reference databases are a great place to start looking for general background information on your topic. Students at PCC have access to a large variety of online databases. The following are just some that might be helpful related to this class. View the full list of databases here.
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Data features quantifiable data points on subjects such as economics, health, disease, religion, etc.
Reference Books (Hardcover)
Check out up to 50 books for 3 weeks at a time, and have items delivered to your campus!
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: HM425 .E5 2000ISBN: 0028648536Publication Date: 2000DV, DC, EC, NW, WC and eBook
Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user's guide to sociological language by Call Number: HM425 .J64 2000ISBN: 0631216812Publication Date: 2000DV, DC, NW, WC and eBook