Database Reference Information
- Nexis Uni Academic This link opens in a new windowIncludes primary source materials, court decisions, and legal reference materials such as American Jurisprudence, Ballentine's Law Dictionary, and Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations. Can also Shepardize legal citations.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (formerly Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new windowContains reference information about various legal subjects.
- ABI/INFORM Dateline This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide scope of information on the legal aspects of business.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference information on a wide variety of subjects including Law and Criminal Justice.
Legal Forms available in the Catalog
Just an example of the Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks the PCC Libraries has available in its collection...
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Call Number: KF154 .W47 2004ISBN: 0314227709Publication Date: 1997-07-01This set of volumes aims to provide easy-to-understand information on law in America. The books show data on 5,000 legal topics, biographies of interesting and influential people who have played a part in shaping US law, and definitions of legal terms.
Historic U.S. court cases : an encyclopedia by Call Number: KF385.A4 J64 2001ISBN: 0415937558Covers information on U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1690 - 1990. Located in the PCC Downtown Library Reference section.
Legal Terminology by Call Number: KF156 .B725 2008ISBN: 9780132738767Publication Date: 2011-12-28More than a legal dictionary, "Legal Terminology," 6e is designed to develop students understanding of legal terms by emphasizing the how they are used in context. Featuring over 1500 legal terms with phonetic pronunciations, this book uses a text/workbook style to present narrative, definitions, study aids, and application activities all geared toward making the study of legal terms more meaningful. This edition includes new "Terms in Action" stories, a new chapter on legal ethics, a new chapter on constitutional law, recent bankruptcy updates, 133 new terms and updated terminology flashcards that give students the vocabulary skills that will need to succeed in a legal career.
Black's Law Dictionary by Call Number: KF156 .B53 2009ISBN: 0314613005Publication Date: 2014-05-01This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
Diccionario de Terminos Legales/Dictionary of Legal Terms by Call Number: KF8900.B39ISBN: 9681803841Publication Date: 1976-01-01This dictionary presents the most comprehensive selection of legal terms and expressions. The contents have been duly revised to unify the different usages of legal terminology in Latin American countries, in accordance with their own laws, statues, and codes of procedures. This Spanish-English/English-Spanish volume provides a quick reference to the words and concepts in the field.
How to prepare for, take, and use a deposition by Call Number: 0938065491ISBN: 0938065491Offers techniques and practical advice on the deposition process.
