Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar Search
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
You may not be able to get access to all of the articles you find through Google Scholar, but if you find a useful article, check MegaSearch and the PCC databases and we may have online access through our databases. If you need help Ask a Librarian.
Google Scholar: what does it do?
You can find scholarly journal articles, books, and more.
(A scholarly publication is written by one expert in an academic discipline for other experts.)
How is Google Scholar different from Google's Web Search?
- Google Scholar focuses exclusively on scholarly publications.
- Although many of these items are available online...
- ...Google Scholar lists lots of items that are NOT available for free
- For free full text, try the links in the right margin.
See the blue links under each brief record
- Cited by: Find newer articles that have cited the one you are looking at.
- Related articles: Find articles on similar topics
- Cite: How to cite this article in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.
Searching Google Scholar
How to search
- Enter your keywords normally.
Getting full text articles (see image below)
- In the right margin, look for this link: "Check for free Full-Text." It usually leads to PCC articles.
- Otherwise, try other links in the right margin.
- If there is no link in the right margin, the item may be a Book or an article PCC doesn't own.
- If you need NEWER articles, use the links in the Left margin.
- For citation help, click Cite (a blue link, under the record).
What if you find a citation online, but you need the full text?
Easy. Copy/paste the entire citation into Google Scholar.
Many times you will find a matching citation! If not, open Ask a Librarian and send the citation to a PCC librarian. We will email you back, hopefully with a link.
What if you find an article citation printed in a book? Like this:
Dornbush, R. L., Fink, M., & Freedman, A. M. (1971). Marijuana, memory, and perception. American Journal of Psychiatry, 128(2), 194-197.
How do you find the full text?
In Google Scholar,
- Enter the article title, enclosed in quotes: "marijuana, memory, and perception"
- Add the last name of the first author listed. "marijuana, memory, and perception" dornbush
If you find a matching citation, look for full text options. (See box above)
PubMed from the National Library of Medicine
PubMed will help you determine what research has been done on a particular topic. It is a mix of citations and full text.
Free website from the National Library of Medicine. It has Citations to Research Studies - and some Full Text
Use Biorxiv.org to find the Very Latest Research
This website searches prepub articles, so it is a great resource for the very latest research.
Try a :.site Google Search
You can search for content on a single website. For example, if you put the following search in Google:
tohono o'odham diabetes site:.arizona.edu
it will search anything about the Tohono O'odham on the University of Arizona's websites.
Here are more examples to consider:
tohono o'odham diabetes site:.asu.edu
tohono o'odham diabetes site:.nau.edu
tohono o'odham diabetes site:.pima.gov
tohono o'odham diabetes site:.azpm.org