Reference Resources (e.g. encyclopedias, dictionaries)
Reference materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks are a great way to learn terminology, important people, places or events, and related concepts when exploring a new topic.
Print Reference Resources
Almanac of American Military History by Call Number: E181 .T93 2013 v.1 , E181 .T93 2013 v.2 , E181 .T93 2013 v.3 , E181 .T93 2013 v.4ISBN: 9781598845303Publication Date: 2012-11-21This almanac provides a comprehensive, chronological overview of all American military history, serving as the standard reference work of its type.
The Oxford Companion to American Military History by Call Number: E181 .O94 1999ISBN: 0195071980Publication Date: 2000-04-13With more than 1,100 entries written by some 500 distinguished contributors, The Oxford Companion to American Military History is "the most comprehensive treatment of American military history ever compiled" (Parameters: U.S. Army War College Quarterly) and an "easy-to-browse, well-organized work" (The Washington Post).
Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America (eBook) by ISBN: 9780313087592Publication Date: 2009-10-15A comprehensive encyclopedia that describes the experiences of American veterans from the Revolutionary War to the present.From the American Revolution to today's conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan, Encyclopedia of the Veteran in America captures the experiences and lives of our nation's veterans in a comprehensive, unprecedented way.
eBook Reference Material
- Military Mental Health Care : A Guide for Service Members, Veterans, Families, and Community (eBook)Military Mental Health Care: A Guide for Service Members, Veterans, Families, and Community seeks to aid our troubled, returning forces by dissecting the numerous mental health problems they face upon arriving stateside.
- War trauma in veterans and their families : diagnosis and management of PTSD, TBI and comorbidities of combat trauma - from pharmacotherapy to a 12-step self-help program for combat veterans (eBook)The mission in writing this book was to look beyond politics in order to explore the extent of the ongoing and long-term human cost of war and military occupation. This book addresses the suffering of our troops and their families and our responsibility as a society, first to acknowledge and diagnose this suffering, and then to care for those who are affected by it.
Additional Library Resources
You can search for additional for background information in 100+ encyclopedias in the PCC Library's Gale Virtual Reference Library:
See also: All Encyclopedia & Reference databases