Holocaust : origins, implementation, aftermath (eBooks)
Holocaust by
Holocaust: Origins, Implementation, Aftermath presents a critical and important study of the Holocaust. Complete with an introduction that summarizes the state of the field, this book contains major reinterpretations by leading Holocaust authors along with key texts on testimony, memory, and justice after the catastrophe.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203158821Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Perpetrating the Holocaust: Leaders, Enablers and Collaborators by Call Number: D804.25 .B37 2019ISBN: 9781440858963Publication Date: 2019
Auschwitz, Bergen-Belsen, Treblinka by
The Nazis set up concentration and death camps in order to isolate, torture, and murder millions of men, women, and children. Author Ann Byers details the system of camps in Europe during the Holocaust. Byers recounts the horrifying conditions suffered by camp inmates as well as their struggles for life and hope in a world gone mad. The remains of many camps still stand today to serve as a chilling reminder of the Holocaust.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0766062153Publication Date: 2014-07-01
The Holocaust by
The Holocaust: The Basics is a concise introduction to the study of this seismic event in mid twentieth-century human history. The book takes an original approach as both a narrative and thematic introduction to the topic, and provides a core foundation for readers embarking upon their own study. It examines a range of perspectives and subjects surrounding the Holocaust, including: the perpetrators of the Holocaust the victims resistance to the Holocaust liberation legacies and survivors' memories of the Holocaust. Suppported by a chronology, glossary, questions for discussion, and boxed case studies that focus the reader's thoughts and develop their appreciation of the subjects considered more broadly, The Holocaust: The Basics is the ideal introduction to this controversial and widely debated topic for both students and the more general reader.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138574199Publication Date: 2019-07-19
Explaining the Holocaust (eBooks)
Explaining the Holocaust by
Seventy years after it took place, the Holocaust committed in Europe during World War II continues to cast a shadow over humankind. Man's inhumanity to man is not a thing of the past; genocidal action is still commonplace around the globe. Has humankind learned the lessons of the past? Is the human race doomed to live in a perpetual state of war and self-destruction?Explaining the Holocaust shows how, given the right circumstances, human beings can lose their humanity. Does that mean that the ethical teachings of the major religions are wishful thinking? This book tackles two questions that continue to be asked by people everywhere: Why did a highly civilised nation like Germany, in the middle of the twentieth century, commit the most heinous crime in human history? And if indeed there is a loving God who made a covenant with the people of Israel, why were millions of innocent Jews dehumanised, starved, tortured, and systematically murdered?Explaining the Holocaust spares no one in discussing the enormity of this evil. But it also shows how the divine spark in human beings did not die during those years of darkness, and why we still have a glimmer of hope.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780718894184Publication Date: 2015-10-29
People in Auschwitz by
Hermann Langbein was allowed to know and see extraordinary things forbidden to other Auschwitz inmates. Interned at Auschwitz in 1942 and classified as a non-Jewish political prisoner, he was assigned as clerk to the chief SS physician of the extermination camp complex, which gave him access to documents, conversations, and actions that would have remained unknown to history were it not for his witness and his subsequent research. Also a member of the Auschwitz resistance, Langbein sometimes found himself in a position to influence events, though at his peril. People in Auschwitz is very different from other works on the most infamous of Nazi annihilation centers. Langbein's account is a scrupulously scholarly achievement intertwining his own experiences with quotations from other inmates, SS guards and administrators, civilian industry and military personnel, and official documents. Whether his recounting deals with captors or inmates, Langbein analyzes the events and their context objectively, in an unemotional style, rendering a narrative that is unique in the history of the Holocaust. This monumental book helps us comprehend what has so tenaciously challenged understanding.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780807863633Publication Date: 2005-12-15
The Holocaust: an Encyclopedia and Document Collection [4 Volumes] by
This four-volume set provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust that allow readers to better understand the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution. * Provides an easily readable encyclopedic collection of secondary source materials, such as reference entries, maps, and tables, that offer a breadth of content for understanding the Holocaust * Examines a broad range of themes relating to the Holocaust, enabling readers to consider important questions about the historical experience and its implications for today * Includes two volumes of primary source material that introduce users to the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution * Presents memoirs and personal narratives that showcase the experiences of survivors and resistors who lived through the chaos and horror of the Final Solution * Includes a comprehensive bibliography that serves as a gateway to further research
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440840845Publication Date: 2017-09-15
Resisting the Holocaust by
This book enables readers to learn about upstanders, partisans, and survivors from first-hand perspectives that reveal the many forms of resistance--some bold and defiant, some subtle--to the Nazis during the Holocaust. * Provides readers with insights into how and when resistance activities took place during the Holocaust--historical information that is both deeply saddening and inspirational * Documents the myriad ways in which upstanders sought to minimize the worst effects of Nazi anti-Jewish measures * Explains how those who came to be recognized as the Righteous among the Nations engaged in their life-saving work * Supplies document introductions and scholarly analysis that help readers to better understand the primary source material as well as a comprehensive bibliography that serves as a gateway to further research
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610698795Publication Date: 2016-06-06
