Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

REA 091 Pat Griesel: Research Resources

Library Scavenger Hunt & Collection of Library Resources

Are you OFF- CAMPUS?

When you click a database link from OFF-CAMPUS, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.

You only need to do this once per session. Other database links will open automatically.

Encyclopedias

Get up-to-speed on unfamiliar concepts.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online database that searches many encyclopedias at once, including

Encyclopedia of Education
Encyclopedia of Education Law
Psychology of Classroom Learning
World Education Encyclopedia
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Encyclopedia of Aging
Child Development

EasyBib

Use at your own risk and be sure to check your work!

Search multiple databases, from one search box

Search dozens of databases and the library catalog.  Find articles, books, eBooks, videos, and more.

Discovery Search

For advanced searches:

  • Click on the link above. (Discovery Search opens)
  • Then click on Search Options (under the search box).
  • Then click on Advanced Search under the search box).

General Periodical Indexes

  • Click Advanced Search for more flexibility.  Use one search box per concept in your topic.
  • You can limit your results to Scholarly/Academic articles or to popular magazine articles.
  • Email articles to yourself, along with an MLA citation.

Article Databases Related to Your Research

You can use article databases to find articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals. 

The Truth About Google

Google indexes the "public web," which is free to everyone.  Many researchers call the public web the "open web." Believe it or not Google indexes less then 10% of the open web. The open web is not a very rich source for scholarly information.  But the more important theme is that no one source provides all the information one normally needs to do good college level research.

When you use library databases, you are on the "private web" (dark web, invisible web, pay-for-web).  The majority of articles you find are NOT available through Googling.  They are sold to libraries.  That is why you search library article and reference databases.

When using Google you may want to study on how to perform your research using Google in a more professional manner.  Check out the Libguide on How to get the most out of Google searches, docs and much more.

CINAHL (Nursing & Health Database)

Search Strategy

1. Use a KEYWORD search.

2. Find a relevant article.

3. Try clicking an official SUBJECT descriptor from this article. Or look for a "Find Similar Articles" function.

4. Use precise terminology from the article in a new Keyword search.

5. Consult an encyclopedia for overviews of concepts (see box at lower left).

6. Email articles to yourself--with citations.

What are Peer-Reviewed Articles?

Does your instructor require you to use scholarly, or peer-reviewed articles?  Watch the video below from
Carleton University Library to find out what peer-reviewed articles are.