Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRT 102- Downtown -Research Scavenger Hunt: Formatting and Citing in MLA

Formatting Your Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography supposed to look like?

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers states the following formatting rules:

  • The text and the works cited list should be double-spaced.
  • Number your pages at the top right of the page.
  • Citation entries must have a hanging indent.
  • There should be 1 inch margins all around (top, bottom, left, and right) on each page.
  • Use Times New Roman font, or similar.
  • Capitalize each important word (noun or verb) in a book or article title.

To see these rules in action, check out the annotated bibliography template I made for your class: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uznJId3rRBYYhX6kJnUvdUnMrPdfiM5q8aGyQBk7eqU/edit?usp=sharing

Simply make a copy of the template to use it for your own annotated bibliography.

Annotated Bibliography Handout

This handout is a good visual reminder of that the Annotated Bibliography should look like and what information it usually contains. REMEMBER, for the Research Scavenger Hunt, your Annotated Bibliography entries should be responses to the Source Evaluation Checklist questions. 

Citefast

Citefast is a citation manager that automatically creates citations in MLA style.  Access is FREE for all users. Keep in mind, the citations that Citefast creates are only as good as the information that you put into them. Make sure to fill in all the information you can find before hitting the Save Citation button. Access Citefast here: https://www.citefast.com/?s=MLA#_Webpage

 

Printable Handouts

OWL at Purdue University

Annotated Bibliography Example (Purdue OWL)