This is the "Databases for Topics and Articles" page of the "WRT 101 - Writing I, Downtown Campus (Matte)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WRT 101 - Writing I, Downtown Campus (Matte)  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.pima.edu/matte101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases for Topics and Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Hot Topics & Current Issues

Browse a list of controversial issues, or keyword search for an issue.

  • These databases provide background reports on issues, along with pro/con arguments.
  • Email any report or article to yourself, along with an MLA citation (may require some editing).

  Encyclopedias

Get up-to-speed on unfamiliar concepts.

General Periodical Indexes

Articles, videos, and E-books

  • Click Advanced Search for more flexibility.  Use one search box per concept in your topic.
  • You can limit your results to Scholarly/Academic articles or to popular magazine articles.
  • Email articles to yourself, along with an MLA citation.

Subject-Specific Periodical Indexes

Use these links to browse article databases by subject. Each section gives several databases to choose from. Right-click a link and select "open in a new tab"

Magazine, Newspaper and Journal Articles

      
     

    Are you OFF- CAMPUS?

    When you click a database link from OFF-CAMPUS, you will be asked to input your MyPima username and password.

    You only need to do this once per session. Other database links will open automatically.

    Search Strategy

    1. Use a KEYWORD search.

    2. Find a relevant article.

    3. Try clicking an official SUBJECT descriptor from this article. Or look for a "Find Similar Articles" function.

    4. Use precise terminology from the article in a new Keyword search.

    5. Consult an encyclopedia for overviews of concepts (see box at lower left).

    6. Email articles to yourself--with citations.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip